The Hunger Games

I have to say that I didn’t really enjoy the movie.  It didn’t seem to have as much excitement and energy that I had expected from all the hype surrounding it.

I am, however, absolutely engrossed in the books! I really cannot put them down and I’m about halfway through the last book, “MockingJay” and I am absolutely ravenous for more!!!  What am I going to do when I’m finished this one?

Who would have thought that a story about a young girl inadvertently becoming the symbol for an uprising against a cruel Capitol and it’s vile President Snow would be so unputdownable??  (That’s a word right?)

I think I’m savouring my free time at the moment – I’ve been reading pretty much non-stop since last week Wednesday, and I’m already trying to figure out what I can read next… if anyone has any suggestions for some great series that I can lose myself in for a few hours a day please do share!

Right now I need to get back to Katniss, Peeta and Gale and find out how their attack on the Capitol fares…  

7 thoughts on “The Hunger Games

  1. Nikki says:

    I made this post about that movie being one of those ‘BAD highly anticipated films’ lol cause i also didn’t think it was as great as it was hyped up to be. not sure if i will read the books…after watching that film… but u make the books sound good.

  2. Hi! i thought the movie didn’t do the book justice!! The movie lost the plot really!! Enjoy it. Savour it! it is brilliant!

  3. Tash says:

    I think I’m enjoying the books so much because the story is told from a first person present point of view. So it’s like you’re experiencing what Katniss is. Also, the books give you a much deeper insight into the psychological and emotional games that the president plays, rather than just the physical that the movie portrays.

    I always think “never judge a book by it’s movie”, and in this particular case it’s could be more true – just my humble opinion though 🙂

  4. jtroughton says:

    The first books was genuinely excellent. The second carried on in a similar vein, though the novelty didn’t quite pan out for the duration. The less said about the third in the series the better, I feel, though it’s worth persevering for the payoff near the end.

    • Tash says:

      The third book so far for me is best. Everything seems to be building to a climax, and I’ve got half a dozen ideas of how things pan out. I’m about 2/3’s of the way through and I’ll be finished this afternoon!

      • jtroughton says:

        Really? Well, different strokes for different folks. I really didn’t get on with the 3rd book at all.

  5. cupcakemummy says:

    Ooooh I have these on my “bookshelf” just haven’t read them yet, will get right on that 😛
    You should read the goddess test series next!

Leave a Reply

