Opportunities and new starts

I haven’t been able to update my blog for a few days because I really haven’t been able to decide what to actually blog about.  There are a couple of things that have happened over the last week and a bit that are exciting, but I’m still trying to wrap my head around it.

First off, I was offered a business opportunity by a close friend, and I spent a large part of last week getting everything set up so I can get started. I believe in the concept and I’m ready now to start selling the service, I’m heading through this morning to get my business pack (business cards and sales material) and I’m going to visit some businesses today to get my first few customers on board. One thing I will desperately need for this to work is a tablet – I’d prefer the Samsung Galaxy Tablet but I think the iPad 2’s are more affordable (from a cash purchase point of view). I just don’t know how I can get one – I don’t have the cash available and probably won’t be able to get a contract – will have to think about how to do this…  

I am also still working part time as a waitress which means I do have some cash in hand for the basic expenses like petrol and groceries. It’s long hours and hard work but at the end of the day it’s a form of income and I am grateful for that.

Aurora started at her new school last week and she seems to have settled in really really well. The one concern I have is that the aftercare don’t seem to ensure that the kids eat their lunch and afternoon snack. Or their mid-morning snack for that matter. When I collected Aurora on Thursday afternoon her lunch box was still full of food and she was starving by the time we got home. I’ll have to see this evening whether she’s eaten and if not, I’ll let them know that I’m not happy about it. I liked her last school because we got a creche diary about her activities for the day, and it included whether the kids ate breakfast, lunch and snacks. This school doesn’t provide the daily update for the parents and I don’t like it. 

It’s time now though to get up and get this day started. I want to sign up at least 5 new customers today! Wish me success!

7 thoughts on “Opportunities and new starts

  1. Emy Diesel says:

    Have you had a look at FNB? I got my iPad through them.

    • Tash says:

      FNB only provides the tablets on personal cheque accounts – they also need proof of income etc, which I don’t have at the moment. 🙂 I have opened a business account with them though, and I’ll move my personal banking over to them once the business is established.

  2. Greg Walsh says:

    Hey Tash, Love your blogs, sometimes sad, sometimes happy, but always refreshing 🙂 Best wishes for 2013. Hope you have all the luck this world has to offer!
    Regards Greg

  3. thecolouredfulwife says:

    Wishing you all the best!

  4. pamiejane says:

    All the best with your new venture
    And I understand your frustration with the food thing. I am having the exact same problem at the moment.

  5. mummyshymz says:

    Good luck! Hope all goes well for you and your daughter 🙂

Leave a Reply

